FULL OR PART TIME ATELIER PROGRAM

SUITABLE FOR ALL LEVELS | 12 WEEK TERM

“Nature is not only all that is visible to the eye... it also includes the inner pictures of the soul.”
— Edvard Munch

For further information or to reserve a space please contact using the form below or email jasonctremlett@gmail.com

Name *
Name

The studio offers a full time and flexible part time atelier program.

This rigorous and focused training allows students to develop both their eye, to see, and their handling of contour, value and colour for an accurate representation of light.

Students will be introduced to the ‘sight-size’ approach taught in major modern ateliers and used historically by painters such as John Singer Sargent, the origins of which date back to the Renaissance.

Throughout students benefit from instructor demonstrations and individual critique as well as the class discussion and experimentation that exists naturally in a working studio.

Studio time can be booked (subject to availability and opening hours) to meet your personal requirements. Visit just once a week or every day. Current studio opening hours are 10am-5pm Monday to Saturday. The studio runs 2 taught sessions per day, mornings 10am-1pm and afternoons 2-5pm.

Suitable for all levels, from beginner to the more experienced artist.

Drawing

Students initially draw from plaster casts and the figure model in sustained poses over multiple sessions developing their eye to see. Emphasis is placed on a highly accurate representation of proportion and value.

Cast drawing, to the scale of life using the sight‑size method, gives students experience of accurately laying in proportions and modelling the effect of light. When the required level of proficiency has been achieved Students move into still life and portraiture.

Pencil drawing allows for the understanding of line and contour. Charcoal teaches value and modelling and is ultimately a more painterly approach.

Students will work on a number of projects in both pencil and charcoal before moving into oil paint.

Painting

Working on individually tailored projects Students will be introduced to appropriate colour palettes, painting surfaces and grounds, paint preparation and painting mediums and their art historic context. 

Students will begin with smaller portrait and still life projects before moving onto larger more challenging compositions.

There will continue to be a focus on accurate drawing, but also colour mixing, edge control, and paint handling including, where appropriate, both direct painting and glazing techniques.

PRICE:

For each 12 week term the price is as follows:

£360 for 1 session per week

£630 for 2 sessions per week

£945 for 3 sessions per week

£1200 for 4 sessions per week

£1440 for 5-6 sessions per week

£1650 for 7-8 sessions per week

£1850 for 9-10 sessions per week

*Prices do not include model costs which are in addition. Prices valid as at 30/04/2019.

See Terms and Conditions

DATES:

AUTUMN TERM 2018: Monday 10th September - Saturday 8th December - HALF TERM BREAK Monday 22nd - Saturday 27th October

WINTER TERM 2019: Monday 7th January - Saturday 6th April - HALF TERM BREAK Monday 18th - Saturday 23rd February

SPRING TERM 2019: Tuesday 23rd April - Saturday 20th July - HALF TERM BREAK Monday 27th May - Saturday 1st June

AUTUMN TERM 2019: Monday 16th September – Saturday 14th December – HALF TERM BREAK Monday 28th – Friday 1st November

WINTER TERM 2020: Monday 6th January – Saturday 4th April – HALF TERM BREAK Monday 17th – Friday 21st February

SPRING TERM 2020: Monday 20th April – Saturday 18th July – HALF TERM BREAK Monday 25th May – Friday 29th May