FULL OR PART TIME ATELIER PROGRAM

SUITABLE FOR ALL LEVELS | 12-14 WEEK TERM

“Nature is not only all that is visible to the eye.. it also includes the inner pictures of the soul.”
— Edvard Munch

For further information or to reserve a space please contact using the form below or email jasonctremlett@gmail.com

Name *
Name

The studio offers a full time and flexible part time atelier program.

This rigorous and focused training allows students to develop both their eye, to see, and their handling of contour, value and colour for an accurate representation of light.

Students will be introduced to the ‘sight-size’ approach taught in major modern ateliers and used historically by painters such as John Singer Sargent, the origins of which date back to the Renaissance.

Throughout students benefit from instructor demonstrations and individual critique as well as the class discussion and experimentation that exists naturally in a working studio.

Studio time can be booked (subject to availability and opening hours) to meet your personal requirements. Visit just once a week, fortnightly or every day. Current studio opening hours are 10am-8pm Mon-Wed and 10am-5pm Friday and Saturday.

Suitable for all levels, from beginner to the more experienced artist.

Drawing

Students initially draw from plaster casts and the figure model in sustained poses over multiple sessions developing their eye to see. Emphasis is placed on a highly accurate representation of proportion and value.

Cast drawing, to the scale of life using the sight‑size method, gives students experience of accurately laying in proportions and modelling the effect of light. When the required level of proficiency has been achieved Students move into still life and portraiture.

Pencil drawing allows for the understanding of line and contour. Charcoal teaches value and modelling and is ultimately a more painterly approach.

Students will work on a number of projects in both pencil and charcoal before moving into oil paint.

Painting

Working on individually tailored projects Students will be introduced to appropriate colour palettes, painting surfaces and grounds, paint preparation and painting mediums and their art historic context. 

Students will begin with smaller portrait and still life projects before moving onto larger more challenging compositions.

There will continue to be a focus on accurate drawing, but also colour mixing, edge control, and paint handling including, where appropriate, both direct painting and glazing techniques.

PRICE:

OPTION 1: £100 PER WEEK FOR UNLIMITED SESSIONS

OPTION 2:  £25 PER 3 HOUR SESSION

*Prices do not include model costs which are in addition.Prices valid as at 01/03/2018.

**A 10% discount is available to those paying for a term in advance (provided that at least 1 session per week is booked for the entire term).

See Terms and Conditions

DATES:

AUTUMN TERM 2017: Mon 4th September - Sun 17th December - HALF TERM BREAK Mon 23rd - Sun 29th October

WINTER TERM 2018: Tues 2nd January - Thurs 29th March - HALF TERM BREAK Mon 12th - Sun 18th February

SPRING TERM 2018: Mon 16th April - Sun 22nd July - HALF TERM BREAK Mon 28th May - Sun 3rd June, 2nd BREAK 18/06/2018-24/6/2018

 

AUTUMN TERM 2018: Mon 3rd September - Sun 16th December - HALF TERM BREAK Mon 22nd - Sun 28th October

WINTER TERM 2019: Mon 7th January - Sun 7th April - HALF TERM BREAK Mon 18th - Sun 24th February

SPRING TERM 2019: Mon 22nd April - Sun 21st July - HALF TERM BREAK Mon 27th May - Sun 2nd June